Derwent Farmhouse is one of the few holiday cottages in Borrowdale. A traditional 17th Century Lakeland farmhouse, as mentioned in the "Rogue Herries" novels, Derwent Farmhouse stands in a quiet courtyard, with the garden sloping down to the River Derwent. The house has many original features including beamed ceilings, an inglenook and a curving stone staircase. It enjoys views to the west of Maiden Moor and Grange Fell to the east.

The grounds, shared with the neighbouring property, are an excellent place to relax and enjoy Borrowdale and the river and surrounding fells. Entering the farmhouse, a large hallway leads to the kitchen/dining room with a large inglenook. Across the hallway is a pleasant sitting room with an open fire and comfortable seating (3-seater sofa, 2-seater sofa and an armchair). From the hallway, a spiral, stone staircase with rope hand-rail leads to the three bedrooms: a double bedroom with en-suite bathroom, a twin bedroom and a further double bedroom. Also upstairs is a second bathroom with WC and washbasin. An accessibility statement is available upon request for this property.

Discounts available outside the peak season for couples staying for 7 nights using 1 bedroom only and for up to 4 people using 2 bedrooms only - please call 01768 776 065 for details.

Features

  • Bedrooms: Sleeps 6 in two doubles (one en-suite) and one twin
  • Bathrooms:
    • En-suite Bathroom - bath with shower over, washbasin and WC,
    • First-floor separate bathroom with bath, washbasin and WC
  • Electricity & heating included
  • Open fire in lounge (solid fuel available locally)
  • Bed linen included, towels optional extra
  • Cot & H/Chair optional extra
  • Sky TV, Free WiFi, DVD Player, Radio/CD player
  • Washing machine and tumble dryer
  • Fridge/Freezer, Microwave, Electric cooker
  • Parking for two cars only
  • Riverside grassed garden with shrubs and bushes - NOTE: open access to river
  • One dog by prior arrangement

 

Some of the visitor comments received this year:

 

We loved the farmhouse, the area and the duck family visitors. Owners very helpful. Unbelievable, had sunshine nearly all week. Great walks and DVD´s/games at night.Thank You! Would love to come back again. 

We and my family loved it here so much. We also saw the duck visitors!!! I loved all the mountains around, we even climbed Catbells and it was very windy at the top!!! and we also watched the Beatrix Potter movie - it was pretty sad. Great walks and DVD´s and very cosy little house.Would love to come back again. Thank you. 

Brilliant week! Loved the cottage and all you´ve done in furnishing it. Even managed to get the children up High Spy - too many hours of descent though.

We had a lovely stay with our dogs for Christmas! A cool place to stay.

Thank you for another lovely stay in Derwent Farmhouse. Great weather, look forward to another visit.

Another lovely week. We managed Catbells and also Styhead Tarn - amazing walk with waterfalls but a bit snowy at the top. Thank you for a warm welcome. 

Must be 10 years we´ve been staying here now, still very enjoyable, no rain at all, walking everyday. First year for Hollie, so she´ll appreciate it all much better next year. Thanks. 

 

If Derwent Farmhouse doesn´t meet your needs for holiday accommodation, then you can consider our other Lake District cottages in Borrowdale: 

  • Barrowgate Lodge at Ashness,
  • Hause Gill Cottage at Seatoller,
  • The Coppice at Manesty.

 

 

 

Tariff

Tariff name Min people Max people Valid from Valid til   Minimum days
Winter Breaks 1 6 Saturday, 27 October 2018 Friday, 21 December 2018 £480.00 per week 3
Christmas 2018 1 6 Saturday, 22 December 2018 Friday, 28 December 2018 £720.00 per week 5
New Year 2018 1 6 Saturday, 29 December 2018 Sunday, 06 January 2019 £900.00 per week 5
Winter Breaks 1 6 Monday, 07 January 2019 Friday, 29 March 2019 £525.00 per week 3
Easter 1 6 Saturday, 30 March 2019 Friday, 05 April 2019 £600.00 per week 7
Easter 1 6 Saturday, 06 April 2019 Friday, 12 April 2019 £690.00 per week 7
Easter 1 6 Saturday, 13 April 2019 Friday, 19 April 2019 £660.00 per week 7
Spring Breaks 1 6 Saturday, 20 April 2019 Friday, 24 May 2019 £600.00 per week 7
Spring Bank 1 6 Saturday, 25 May 2019 Friday, 31 May 2019 £810.00 per week 7
Spring Breaks 1 6 Saturday, 01 June 2019 Friday, 05 July 2019 £600.00 per week 7
Summer 1 6 Saturday, 06 July 2019 Friday, 12 July 2019 £750.00 per week 7
Summer 1 6 Saturday, 13 July 2019 Friday, 23 August 2019 £810.00 per week 7
August Bank Holiday 1 6 Saturday, 24 August 2019 Friday, 30 August 2019 £750.00 per week 7
September 1 6 Saturday, 31 August 2019 Friday, 27 September 2019 £600.00 per week 7
Autumn Breaks 1 6 Saturday, 28 September 2019 Friday, 18 October 2019 £570.00 per week 7
Autumn Breaks 1 6 Saturday, 19 October 2019 Friday, 25 October 2019 £810.00 per week 7
Autumn Breaks 1 6 Saturday, 26 October 2019 Friday, 01 November 2019 £750.00 per week 7
Winter Breaks 1 6 Saturday, 02 November 2019 Friday, 20 December 2019 £510.00 per week 3
Christmas 2019 1 6 Saturday, 21 December 2019 Friday, 27 December 2019 £720.00 per week 7
New Year 2019 1 6 Saturday, 28 December 2019 Friday, 03 January 2020 £900.00 per week 7
 Fully booked
BOOK